Stay Excited!

 

This blog entry is copied, almost verbatim, from an email I received from a friend of mine, Charles J. Lewis of Charles Lewis Photography whom I admire and respect.

 

Pursuing a photographic hobby or business can be tiring, time-consuming,
and frustrating. It’s not uncommon for a good photographer
to burn out from time to time.  You don’t want that to happen to you!

 

Saint Pat"s

Saint Pat"s

 

If you’re not excited about your photography no one else is going to be. And, who wants to view images they’re not enthusiastic about?

 

Here are some quick tips for regaining your passion if you’re feeling a
little “burned out” or frustrated:

 

  • Write down all the reasons you love photography.  Why did you go into this hobby or business?!  What do you want to do for yourself or your clients?  I always ask my students to start here.
  • Tell others the story of why you became a photographer. This is truly important.  People want to “feel your passion” and understand how you feel about your photography.
  • Imagine what you want your photography to look like in 5 years (even if it’s unrealistic… perhaps especially if it’s unrealistic!)  Write down some key notes in your Journal during your quiet meditative time every morning.
  • Be sure you put inspirational messages into your mind each morning –  by listening to positive CD’s and reading inspiring articles and books by people who are where you want to be.  Remember, how your first hour of the day goes, so goes your day!
  • Take time to rejuvenate – you can NOT be creative 100 hours a week.  I have found that the more time I take off and get away, the better job I do when I’m photographing or marketing or selling.

 

 

Look, you became a photographer for a reason.  And, how you feel about your photography is going to be reflected in the risks you’ll take, the way you interact with your audience, your clients and prospects, and the amount of money you bring in! (This has much less to do with this Recession, and much more to do with how you feel, than you realize!)

 

Ray Kroc (founder of McDonald’s) said, “If you work just for the money, you’ll never make it, but if you love what you’re doing, and always put the customer first, success will be yours.”

 

Be passionate! Be excited! Learn to love your business, your clients, and the simple joys of photography. There are many!  (The glass is half full, not half empty!)  Pass that passion on to your family, your staff and your clients, and you’ll see a phenomenal difference in the growth and success of your business – regardless of the economy at the moment!

 

Folks, take this on and I promise your photography and your attitude towards photography will shift to something greater.  And remember, many of the practices I encourage you to try in photography also apply to your life.

 

Click on “Add A Comment” above and share with all of us how you stay excited.

 

Just keep clicking!
I love and appreciate you all,
Michael
Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Stay Excited!”

  1. Pie Says:

    Ok, so Im not a photographer. However, I will tell you what excites me. BOWLING. Since I joined the league, I cant wait until Tuesday nights. And then once I go, I cant wait until the following Tuesday. My excitement about it lasts the entire week. This is why my dearest Mike D, that I have decided to be a professional ametuer bowler!
    Semper Fi!

Leave a Reply

