When You’re Feeling Your Lowest, The Real You Is Summoned

“Sometimes, when you’re feeling your lowest, Michael, the real you is summoned.

And you understand, maybe for the first time ever, how grand you are, because you discover that vulnerable doesn’t mean powerless, scared doesn’t mean lacking in beauty, and uncertainty doesn’t mean that you’re lost.

These realizations alone will set you on a journey that will take you far beyond what you used to think of as extraordinary.

There is always a bright side.”

This is a message that I received from a friend of mine this morning.  I found it interesting enough to include it in todays blog.

I’m not feeling low today, not at all, but I have thrown my share of pity parties.   That’s why I find it important to have practices in life that has me stay in touch with my power, beauty and direction.  (don’t laugh, I am beautiful, in a rough rugged kind of way) I call them “Touchstones.”

Camping, playing the guitar, meditation, traveling; these are just some of my touchstones.  One of my favorite touchstones is photography.  I love capturing images of people, places or things.  Photography is a meditative process for me.  It allows me to get out of my head and all the chatter that goes on in there.

I appreciate the message my friend sent me.  I’m going to keep it to remind myself the there is always a bright side.  And, I guess for me regular and frequent participation in the things on my touchstone list help to keep those low feeling at bay.

Change The Way You Look At Things

And The Things You Look At Change,

Michael

What are your touchstones?  Click on comments at the top of this blog entry and let me know.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “When You’re Feeling Your Lowest, The Real You Is Summoned”

  1. Pie Says:

    Ok well my touchstones are as follows: I enjoy art, Im not saying that Im good at it, but I think Bob Ross might have been my dad in another life. Having a blank canvas infront of me gives me the freedom to do whatever I want, I can go to places that only exist in my mind. I also love cooking and baking, you will be amazed at what making a pan of chicken parm and a tray of brownies can do for the soul. I also love bowling, and would like to try water-skiing.

  2. Pink Says:

    Hmmm……I have a few touchstones. One of my favorites photography. I love being behind the camera, documenting people, places and things around me. Another touchstone is traveling. I LOVE to travel. Even just weekend trips a state or two away from home. Just going somewhere new, where I’ve never explored before, fills me up with excitement. A third touchstone of mine would definitely be spending quality time with my close friends.(my 2 best friends…Fudgie and Crazy) 🙂 Yet another touchstone of mine is listening and playing music. I love playing the piano, singing and am determined to learn the bongo drums. I also love dancing. And the last touchstone of mine that I will share with you all is….helping others in need. I get so much joy out of helping those in need. Especially children. I plan to make a difference and help all those children in poverty through my photography.

Leave a Reply

