To Live View or Not To Live View

 

 I’m often told by potential DSLR purchasers that they would      never use Live View.

I thought the same thing before owning a camera with this feature.  I wondered if it was a practical feature or just a marketing tactic used to lure point and shoot users over to the DLSR community?  Now that I own a DSLR with Live View I’m finding all types of  applications.  

 

Last week while attending Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade there are shots that I never would have been able to get without including the backs of heads in front of me.  Sure, I could have elbowed my way to the front and stood in front of the small children and others who had been waiting for hours before me, but that’s just not how I roll.

To Live View or not to Live View?  What’s your opinion?  Click on “Comments” at the top of this blog entry, I’d like to know.  

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “To Live View or Not To Live View”

  1. Michael Says:

    If you’re having trouble leaving a comment, email me directly at michaeld@uniquephoto.com.

    Thanx

  2. Pie Says:

    Hey. What exactly is live view? I dont know, so I cant tell you whether or not I would use it. Hope you are doing good “D”.

  3. Photowayfarer Says:

    Sorry, Live View is a feature on digital cameras that allow you to view and compose the picture on the camera’s LCD monitor before taking it. The Digital Single Lens Reflex (DSLR) cameras have only recently introduced this feature while the digital point and shoot cameras have had it for some time now.

  4. Jay Halsey Says:

    Michael;
    I would use Live View if I had it (have Canon Rebel XTI). Can’t afford to upgrade yet. There have been several occasions I would’ve loved to have the ability to use Live View.

    I read your blog all the time @ Photoinsider blog on Unique Photo’s web site. Enjoy it very much.

    Jay

  5. Pink Says:

    I’m right there with you Mike D! I never would’v thought I’d use Live View either. But I must say….it comes in handy and I love it!! Especially since I am a documentary photographer and love catching people off guard. The Live View allows me to hold my camera in such a way that the person would never expect that I’m taking their picture. LOVE IT! And You’re AWESOME Mister Michael.

  6. Pie Says:

    Ok well since my question was answered, I would have to go with yes I would use it. Not all of us are lucky enough to be as naturally talented as yourself and Miss Pink. I think it would be an asset for any person who is not a professional photog. Long live technology!
    May the force be with you!

  7. Jason Says:

    Live View is a life saver at wedding and events when you have to get above the action. Also for tracking your subjects in sporting events. And for those with poor vision, this also enhances your comfort level with your digital SLR.

Leave a Reply

